Skip to main content

File Permissions

Modified: 14 Oct 2026 Trimble Connect Help

All files in Connect inherit their permissions from their parent folder. Additional file permissions can be added.

File and folder permissions can be managed only in Trimble Connect for Browser. The permissions applied in the Browser application are enforced in all other Trimble Connect applications.

Permission Levels

Multiple user groups can work on one project in Trimble Connect for Browser. With file permissions, access to files can be set based on user groups or individual user accounts.

Your access to a given folder is based on the permission level and your role within the project.
  • Full Access - you can open, edit, delete, and move the file.
  • Read Only Access - can open and download the file.
    Note: File-level permissions are applied on top of permissions inherited from the parent folder. They are additive by nature, so you can not remove permissions on the file level.
Tip: If a user is in more than one group, the greatest level of access is applied to the user.

For example, if one group has full access to a folder, while another group is granted read-only access, any users in both groups have full access to the folder.

Submit

Table of Contents