You can edit a distribution group to add more users, remove
users, rename the group, as well as change or clear the primary contact.
- From the home page, under Projects, select the name of
the project you want to open.
Alternatively, go to the main menu

in the upper left-hand corner, select
Projects, and then select the
name of the project you want to open.
The Dashboard for the project
appears.
-
From the upper right-hand corner of the page,
select the settings icon
, then select
Project
Settings.
-
Click the Distribution Groups
tab.
The Distribution Groups page
appears.
-
From the list of distribution groups on the
left-hand side of the page, select the distribution group you want to
modify.
-
(Optional) Add users to a group.
-
Click the Add User icon
to open the Add Users to
Group dialog.
-
In the Group Members field,
for each contact you want to add, enter the first few letters of the
name, organization, or email address, or use the search
tool to locate the contact. Click to add
the contact.
Note:
You can add one group as a member of another
group. In the search field, groups are indicated with the group
icon
. Note that
contacts included in more than one group assigned to a work item
will not receive any additional notifications from Team as a
result of being in nested groups.
When you have added all members of the distribution group, click
Save.
-
(Optional) Remove users from a group.
-
Select the users you want to remove.
-
Click the More
button
and select
Remove Selected
Users.
To remove an individual group member, in the
Actions column,
select the
More button

for that contact and select
Remove from Group.
-
(Optional) Rename a group.
-
Click the More
button
and select
Rename
Group.
-
From the Rename Group dialog, enter the new name
of the group, and then click Save.
-
(Optional) Change the primary contact.
-
Select the primary contact in the group,
click the More button
, and select Change Primary
Contact.
-
Click the More
button
and select
Change Primary
Contact.
-
From the Choose Primary Contact dialog, in the
Primary
field, enter the first few letters of the name, organization, or email
address, or use the search
tool to locate the
contact you wish to be the primary contact.
Click to add the contact, and then click
Save.
-
(Optional) To clear the primary contact, click the
More button
, and then select Clear Primary Contact.
The edited distribution group
appears as an option in any field where you select contacts for work items in the
project. Additionally:
- If a contact has been removed from a distribution group, they no longer
receive project notifications and no longer have access to work items if they
are not otherwise associated with the project.