How to: Create a custom title block in Revit
Not version-specific
Stabicad
Context & Preparation This article describes how to create a Revit title block based on an existing AutoCAD title block. Two important rules beforehand:
- Revit files from newer versions cannot be opened in older versions. Therefore, always create your Title Blocks in the oldest Revit version used within your company.
- Ensure you know the location of your 'Custom folder' (can be found in StabiBASE via Manage -> StabiBASE Settings -> General tab).
AutoCAD Titleblock:
Revit Titleblock:
Phase A: Open template and import AutoCAD title block
- Open the Revit template file for title blocks (
TEMPLATE Frame fields.rfa) and save the file under a new name. - Import your existing AutoCAD title block as an underlay via the Insert > Import CAD tab. (Your default AutoCAD title blocks are usually located in <custom folder location>\Templates\Title blocks\EN-EN).
- In the import dialog, choose the following options: Colors: Preserve, Layers: All, Import units: Auto-Detect, and Positioning: Manual - Base point. Click Open.
- Choose [Yes] if Revit asks whether to import data from Model Space.
- Place the stamp in the frame and align it in the bottom right corner using the Align tool on the Modify tab.
Phase B: Position fields and labels
- In AutoCAD, type the commands
(loadall)followed byCREATEFULLTITLEBLOCKto see which parameters correspond to which StabiBASE fields. - In Revit, select the Move tool from the Modify tab and drag the required labels to the correct location in the imported titleblock.
Commonly used fields:
Profiles:
Projects:
Sheet fields:
Modifications:
Phase C: Integrate Modification Data (Revisions) When processing revisions and modification data, strict rules apply to the labels:
- You can link multiple attributes (such as A, B, C); Stabicad ensures they are handled in the correct chronological order.
- Important: To process a date label (
MOD_DATE) in the title block, the corresponding revision code (MOD_CODE) must always be present in the titleblock. - Tip: If you do not want to show the revision code on the final drawing, place the
MOD_CODElabel in the family, but turn off its visibility in the Revit properties window.
Phase D: Adjust formatting and clean up
- Select a label and choose Edit Type in the properties window to adjust the formatting (such as font or size). If you want to change only one specific field, click Duplicate first and give it a new name.
- Remove all remaining, unnecessary labels and alignment lines using the Delete key.
- Zoom in on the frame by typing the letters Z and E (Zoom Extents) in succession.
- Save the finalized titleblock via File > Save As > Family in your Custom folder:
<custom folder location>\Families\Sheets\Title blocks\EN-EN.
Phase E: Place the new title block in a Revit project
- In your project, go to the StabiTOOLS palette > Setup > Manage Sheets.
- Select an existing sheet and click Edit....
- Select your custom-made stamp in the titleblock properties (browse to it manually if it's not directly in the list).
- Click OK and then Save and close. The new titleblock will now be inserted on the respective sheet.
Attachments: Download the template here: TEMPLATE TITLEBLOCK REVIT