When you start sharing a model in Tekla Model Sharing, you become the Owner of the model.
To start sharing a model, you need to belong to a company's account as an employee. For more information, see Manage user accounts for Tekla products and Manage subscriptions for Tekla products.
-
Open a single-user model that you want to share.
-
On the
File menu, click
.
The
Start sharing dialog opens.
-
Select the service from the
Service list.
Tekla service is the cloud-based sharing service for Tekla Model Sharing.
An alternative to the cloud-based sharing
service is the on-premises sharing service. Tekla Model Sharing on-premises server requires a separate subscription and installation.
For more information about how to set up and install the on-premises
server, see Install an on-premises
sharing service for Tekla Model Sharing.
If the on-premises sharing
service is enabled, you need to select the service from the Service list when you use Tekla Model Sharing for the first time.
-
If needed, enter a
Code and a
Description for the model.
-
Code can be, for example, a site number, a project number, or an accounting number.
-
Description uses by default the same description as entered in the
description of Project properties.
-
In Model data storage location, select the location for the model data storage.
There are four model data storage locations available: Asia (Singapore/Southeast Asia), Australia (New South Wales/Australia East), Europe (Ireland/North Europe), North America (Virginia/East US), and United Kingdom. The locations are the same locations as in Trimble Connect.
Select the region geographically closest to the majority of the users in the model to improve the performance.
If you use the on-premises sharing service,
you cannot select the data storage location.
Note that you can set the data storage location only if your company's Tekla Model Sharing administrator has allowed that in Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing. Administrators can set a default data storage location for the company. For more information, see Management Console for Tekla Model Sharing.
- Invite other users to share your model by entering their email addresses to the Invite users box, and set their user role to either Editor, Owner, Project viewer, or Viewer.
You can add multiple users at one go. Separate the email addresses with semicolons. Do not use spaces between the email addresses. If you add several users at one go, set also their roles.
Note that if you are using Tekla Structures Partner license and you want to join to a Tekla Model Sharing production model, request to be added as a Viewer. You can then read in changes but you cannot write out changes. This ensures that the production model is not converted to a partner model.
-
Click the
Add button to add the users to the model.
-
Select the Send email notification to user checkbox to send a notification email to the invited users, and write a
message to the users.
-
Click the
Start button to start sharing your model.
The model is saved and written out to the
sharing service.
The next time you open the model, you have two options:
-
In the Tekla Structures start screen when you open Tekla Structures:
-
Go to the Shared models tab.
-
Click Continue to open the Shared models dialog.
-
Select the Show shared models on this computer checkbox to list the models.
-
Click Join.
You can also open shared models on the
Recent or All models tabs.
-
In Tekla Structures, go to
.